PIERO SEMBENELLI MILANO

VOL.108 NO.GT1. JAN. 1982

PROCEEDINGS OF THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF CIVIL ENGINEERS



# AMERICAN SOCIETY OF CIVIL ENGINEERS

# BOARD OF DIRECTION

President James R. Sims

Past President Irvan F. Mendenhall

President Elect John H. Wiedeman

Vice Presidents Lyman R. Gillis Albert A. Grant

Paul A. Kuhn William H. Taylor

Directors Martin G. Abegg L. G. Byrd Frederick W. DeWitt Larry J. Feeser John A. Focht, Jr Sergio Gonzalez-Karg Kenneth D. Hansen Ronald C. Hirschfeld Louis M. Laushev Leon D. Luck

Arthur R. McDaniel Robert L. Morris Paul R. Munger William R. Neuman Leonard S. Oberman John D. Parkhurst Celestino R. Pennoni Robert B. Rhode Gerald E. Speitel Lawrence E. Wilson, Jr.

Richard S. Woodruff

# **EXECUTIVE OFFICERS**

Eugene Zwoyer, Executive Director Julie E. Gibouleau. Assistant to the Executive Director

Louis L. Meier, Washington Counsel/Assistant Secretary
William H. Wisely, Executive Director Emeritus

Michael N. Salgo, Treasurer Elmer B. Isaak, Assistant Treasurer

### STAFF DIRECTORS

Donald A. Buzzell, Managing Director for Education and Professional Affairs Robert A. Crist, Jr., Managing Director for Publications and Technical Affairs Alexandra Ballow, Director, Human Resources Joseph A. DeFiglia, Director, Management Information Services

David Dresia, Director, Publications Production and Marketing Barker D. Herr, Director, Membership Richard A. Jeffers, Controller Carl E. Nelson. Director, Field Services Bruce Rickerson, Director, Legislative Services Albert W. Turchick, Director, Technical

Services George K. Wedlin, Director, Education Services

R. Lawrence Whipple, Director, Engineering Management Services

#### COMMITTEE ON PUBLICATIONS

William R. Neuman, Chairman Martin G. Abegg Ronald C. Hirschfeld John A. Focht, Jr. Paul R. Munger Lawrence E. Wilson, Jr.

## GEOTECHNICAL ENGINEERING DIVISION

Executive Committee Ernest T. Selio, Chairman Harvey E. Wahls, Vice Chairman John T. Christian Ro Robert Schuster Robert D. Darragh, Jr., Secretary Roy E. Olson, Management Group E Contact Member

**Publications Committee** William F. Marcuson III, Chairman and Editor O. B. Andersland John E. Anderson Warren J. Baker Don C. Banks James M. Bell Chandra S. Brahama John T. Christian G. W. Clough Tuncer B. Edil Herbert H. Einstein Arley G. Franklin D. H. Gray Bobby Hardin Cornelius J. Higgins William H. Highter Robert D. Holtz Izzat M. Idriss L. H. Irwin Jey K. Jeyapalan Reuben H. Karol H. Y. Ko William D. Kovacs

Leland M. Kraft

Raymond J. Krizek C. C. Ladd Poul V. Lade Leonard J. Langfelder Felipe A. Len-Rios Gholamreza Mesri Donald J. Murphy S. V. Nathan Thom L. Neff Edward A. Nowatzki Michael W. O'Neill Jean H. Prevost Adel Saada Surendra K. Saxena Robert L. Schiffman Charles W. Schwarz Woodland G. Schockley Marshall L. Silver G. R. Thiers D. D. Treadwell Charles R. Ulfrich J. Lawrence Von Thun

R. N. Yong

#### E. T. Selig, Exec. Comm. Contact Member PUBLICATION SERVICES DEPARTMENT

David Dresia, Director, Publications Production and Marketing

#### Technical and Professional Publications

Richard R. Torrens, Manager Chuck Wahrhaftig, Chief Copy Editor Corinne Bernstein, Copy Editor Walter Friedman, Copy Editor Warren Meislin, Copy Editor Richard C. Scheblein, Draftsman

Information Services Melanie G. Edwards, Editor

#### PERMISSION TO PHOTOCOPY JOURNAL PAPERS

Permission to photocopy for personal or internal reference beyond the limits in Sections 107 and 108 of the U.S. Copyright Law is granted by the American Society of Civil Engineers for libraries and other users registered with the Copyright Clearance Center, 21 Congress Street, Salem, Mass. 01970, provided the appropriate fee is paid to the CCC for all articles bearing the CCC code. Requests for special permission or bulk copying should be addressed to the Manager of Technical and Professional Publications, American Society of Civil Engineers.

# CONTENTS

by Orlando B. Andersland, Abdul-Amir W. N. Al-Khafaji, and Richard K. Lowe	1
Design of Filters for Clay Cores of Dams by Peter R. Vaughan and Hermusia F. Soares	
Swell of Wyoming Montmorillonite and Sand Mixtures by Mehmit A. Sherif, Isao Ishibashi, and B. W. Medhin	
Safety Factor of Dams and Retaining Walls by Alexander Danilevsky	47
Sand Liquefaction: Inelastic Effective Stress Model by Christos A. Katsikas, and E. Benjamin Wylie	63
Compression of "Free-Ends" During Triaxial Testing by Robert W. Sarsby, Nikolas Kalteziotis, and Essam H. Haddad	83

The Journal of the Geotechnical Engineering Division (ISSN 0093-6405) is published monthly by the American Society of Civil Engineers. Publications office is at 345 East 47th Street, New York, N.Y. 10017. Address all ASCE correspondence to the Editorial and General Offices at 345 East 47th Street, New York, N.Y. 10017. Allow six weeks for change of address to become effective. Subscription price to members is \$16.00. Nonmember subscriptions available; prices obtainable on request. Second-class postage paid at New York, N.Y. and at additional mailing offices. GT.

POSTMASTER: Send address changes to American Society of Civil Engineers, 345 East 47th Street, New York, NY 10017.

The Society is not responsible for any statement made or opinion expressed in its

El Infiernillo and La Villita Dams: Seismic Behavior by Daniel Reséndiz, Miguel P. Romo, and Edmundo Moreno	109
CW Microwave Location of Voids Beneath Paved Areas by Robert M. Koerner, Arthur E. Lord, Jr., John J. Bowders, Jr., and William W. Dougherty	133
Application of Screw Plate to Stiff Clays by J. Neil Kay and Derek L. Avalle	145
Laterally Loaded Pile Behavior by Michael Georgiadis and Roy Butterfield	155
DISCUSSION	
Proc. Paper 16773	
Ground Control for Shallow Tunnels by Soil Grouting, by David Y. Tan and G. Wayne Clough (Sept., 1980. Prior Discussion: Dec., 1981).  closure	169
Cyclic Stress-Strain History and Shear Characteristics of Clay, by Tamotsu Matsui, Hideo Ohara, and Tomio Ito (Oct., 1980).  by Demetrious C. Koutsoftas  closure	
Cam-Clay Predictions of Undrained Strength,* by Paul W. Mayne (Nov., 1980).  by Thomas C. Anderson	178
by J. A. Ramalho-Ortigão and Leandro Moura Costa-Filho	181

<sup>\*</sup>Discussion period closed for this paper. Any other discussion received during this discussion period will be published in subsequent Journals.